THE LEGACY OF MARY LATHROP



Mary Lathrop was born in 1865 to a Philadelphia Quaker family. At age 19, she became a reporter at a local newspaper where she pursued a distinguished career until ill health forced her to choose a new career at age 30. She came to Colorado, decided to go into law, and graduated first in her class from the University of Denver School of Law. She passed the Colorado Bar in 1896 with a score that would stand as a record until 1941.

She hung her shingle in Colorado in 1897, specializing in probate law. After being turned down twice because "women should not practice law," she was the first woman admitted to practice before the U.S. District Court in Colorado.

Her "firsts" also include being the first woman to open a law office in Colorado, first woman to argue before the Colorado Supreme Court, first woman to be admitted to the U.S. Supreme Court, and first woman to join the Colorado and Denver Bar Associations. She was also one of the first two women to join the American Bar Association. She helped re-draft probate statutes in Colorado and assisted in developing the Small Guardianship Law. Her most famous case was <u>Clayton v. Hallett</u>, which established the law of charitable bequests in Colorado.

At the time of her death in 1951, she had received numerous awards. During her lifetime, she made anonymous donations to help students. After her death, she left the bulk of her estate to establish a student loan fund at the University of Denver.

The Colorado Women's Bar Association (CWBA) first presented the Mary Lathrop Award in 1991, and has made an annual presentation each year since, in order to preserve and foster the memory of this woman who has left a legacy for us all. The Mary Lathrop Award is given to an outstanding female attorney who has enriched the community through her legal and civic activities.



MARY LATHROP AWARD WINNERS

| 1991 | Elizabeth Adams Conour, Elizabeth L. Guyton Girch, Estelle Hadley, Helen T. Street |
|------|---|
| 1992 | Mary Brickner, Margaret B. Ellison, Brooke Wunnicke, |
| 1993 | Jean Dubofsky, Marilyn Traub Meadoff, The Honorable Jacqueline St. Joan |
| 1994 | Natalie S. Ellwood |
| 1995 | Norma Comstock, Karen Steinhauser, The Honorable Zita L. Weinshienk |
| 1996 | Sheila Hyatt, Barbara Salomon, Mimi Wesson |
| 1997 | Cathlin Donnell, Mary Hoagland |
| 1998 | Susan Barnes, The Honorable Claudia Jordan |
| 1999 | Gale Norton, Gail Schoettler |
| 2000 | Christine Arguello, Dottie Wham |
| 2001 | The Honorable Rececca Love Kourlis |
| 2002 | The Honorable Mary J. Mullarkey |
| 2003 | The Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Mary E. Ricketson |
| 2004 | Marla Williams |
| 2005 | The Honorable Nancy E. Rice |
| 2006 | Fay M. Matsukage |
| 2007 | Pamela Robillard Mackey |
| 2008 | Lynda A. McNeive |
| 2009 | Elizabeth A. Starrs |
| 2010 | Deborah R. Adams |
| 2011 | The Honorable Mary A. Celeste |
| 2012 | The Honorable Janice B. Davidson, Lynn Feiger |
| 2013 | Lorraine Parker, Doris B. Truhlar |
| 2014 | U. S. Magistrate Judge Patricia Coan (ret.) |
| 2015 | The Honorable Sandra Rothenberg |

The Colorado Women's Bar Association is grateful for the ongoing and generous financial support of Lewis Roca Rothgerber, LLP for this award's presentation each year at the CWBA Annual Convention.